Reviews

8.7
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
8.5
Property location
8.6
Facilities
8.5
Staff
9.4
Value
8.7

Reviews

    Christian
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    2 June 2018

    Building a bit old but pools fantastic

    Nikola
    gb

    Review score

    10
    23 May 2018

    A one-off experience

    This is a very unique place suitable for both onsen-pros and beginners. We received a full tutorial in English which made us feel very comfortable and welcome. The mixed bath is huge and stunningly beautiful with several pools, cave, waterfall and natural rocks. It's a real treat. A night dip recommended. Private baths don't need to be booked. You can pick up a key from the reception when it's available although some of them are more popular and therefore busier (one with the river view is worth the wait but do try the "cooking" pots too!). The multi-course meals were great and again, everything was explained as the dishes were served. We wished we could finish everything but it was impossible, especially in the morning. The tea and little snacks in the room were also very nice. Alcohol vending machines for your beer needs and free drinking water mean you don't have to leave the hotel ever unless you really want to. A direct bus from Takayama terminal stops right by the hotel.
    Caroline Tedja Pranata
    id

    Review score

    5.8
    18 May 2018

    The staff is very nice and speak a good english. The private onsens are awesome

    The decoration and it is a bit outdated. Need to give some light at the corridor.
    The staff, the onsen, and the food
    Richard
    gb

    Review score

    10
    18 May 2018

    I had an excellent experience due to the scenery, staff and facilities.

    The wifi worked intermittently, which is only a small problem. The door to the observation room should automatically close as it is a smoking room and the door was left open sometimes.
    The staff were excellent and spoke very good english. The lady on reception, Erica, had particularly good english with a very good accent. The hot spring baths were excellent. The other facilities were excellent.
    Amaia
    es

    Review score

    8.8
    9 May 2018

    Absolute relax and tradition tasting in the heart of Japanese alps!

    The futon was a fit hard (more than they usually are). Although we loved location, a bit isolated if you look for a nearby town to walk through or alternative food.
    Exceptional location, peaceful sightseeing from plenty of public and private baths. 24h open. Kind workers.
    Michelle
    hk

    Review score

    9.2
    27 April 2018
    Room is a bit aged.
    Helpful staff. Nice food. Hotel is detailedly decorated.
    Vasu
    th

    Review score

    9.6
    17 April 2018

    The staff was very friendly and hospitality. Dinner is traditional Japanese style and is very good.

    Staff, Onsen, Food
    Michael
    ch

    Review score

    9.2
    17 April 2018

    Japanese hospitality as it’s best!

    Nothing
    The staff was so friendly and helpful. It felt like being a part of the family. They really care and spoil you! The food was outstandingly good. Fresh fish and real japanese food which was fantastic. They explain everything and eating becomes a cultural experience. Also to mention the beautiful onsen which is a nature one huge. There are also 3 private onsen all natural hot springs! One thing to consider is that the place is a bit outside and 1,5h busride from Takayama. A rental car is plus then. It was a superb experience for us and we definitely recommend the place!
    Charles
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    14 April 2018

    Relaxing in mountain surroundings

    Sharing toilet facilities
    Hot baths, the food, WiFi
    dk

    Review score

    10
    8 April 2018

    Great experiance

    I would like somewhere to store my luggage.
    Great local food, really nice onsen and a good way to experience a traditional ryokan
    Katrintravels
    de

    Review score

    10
    2 April 2018

    Great experience!

    No toilet or shower in the room, you have to use the common one AND, surprisingly, no shower at the outdoor onsen as well (it's at the indoor onsen). When they told us that they could eventually give us a ride to Shin-Hotaka Ropeway ('shuttle service'), it turned out to be the local bus which departed 200m from the hotel (not a problem if you know it in advance, but as we didn't, we had to rush).
    Huge room for the 3 of us and one of the best meals we enjoyed in Japan! (it was so much that my mum couldn't finish her breakfast because she was still full from the amazing dinner- including tempura, sashimi, local fish and local beef, etc.) The check in by their English speaking staff was very informative and detailed. Don't miss their outdoor onsen and especially not their mixed bath (you get a swimming suit)- we found the cave to be especially nice!
    DAN
    cn

    Review score

    10
    12 March 2018
    I have to say, it’s perfect to stay here, even only one night. They also have Chinese stuff could help explain in Chinese. But the stuff 美貴子could speak very fluent English, and always try to give help. The outdoor hot spring is nice , even it’s mix sexual. The best private room is No.3 , great location, you could enjoy the river and mountain view. Both the dinner and breakfast are delicious. Worth to stay , especially for the reasonable price. Highly recommend!
    See Chung Segio
    hk

    Review score

    9.2
    12 March 2018

    Very nice

    Without washroom inside room
    Large outdoor hot spring pool
    Sumanas Bunyaratavej
    th

    Review score

    8.8
    24 February 2018
    No toilet in the room.
    Great and beautiful both open air and private onsen. Refrigerator and hot water kettle are good.
    au

    Review score

    7.9
    19 February 2018

    Would definitely return when it is a little warmer.

    The heating in the building was not adequate for the very cold conditions.
    The staff were outstanding.
    Felicia
    sg

    Review score

    8.3
    15 February 2018

    Food was great and facilities were great, friendly staff, no mountain view as written.

    Everything was close to excellent but I expected a real mountain view when I opened the window. It wasn’t exactly a mountain view room stated which was disappointing for me, it was more like a slope with lots of snow which we could only see 1/4 of it.
    The private and public onsen cater to different needs which is great! View was amazing at the onsen as well. Dinner and breakfast are carefully prepared, so good and you feel very pampered. The staff are super friendly and they speak English as much as possible. Very warm feeling from the staff. The sanso really has this traditional feeling once you step in.
    Tina Goh
    my

    Review score

    8.3
    28 January 2018

    Very nice place to experience outdoor onsen

    Ladies toilet a bit
    The room is very basic for the price we pay, however the outdoor onsen especially the mixed pool and private pool are really natural type, i think that is what i am willing to pay for it. The food served is good also, fine and fresh. Staffs all very friendly and helpful, the girl at reception speaks very good English, she helped me to book the snow walking at Shinhotaka, it was an excellent experience !
    Chern Yong
    my

    Review score

    10
    28 May 2018

    Wonderful experience!!!

    none
    Their Onsen facilities and meals
    Janine
    au

    Review score

    7.9
    24 April 2018

    One of our favourite experiences of our holiday!

    Sharing the bathroom was a pain as it was a fair way down the hallway.
    Loved the onsens, it was beautiful being in the lovely warm water while it was gently snowing, looking at the wonderful alps. The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to help, even driving us to the bus stop when it was snowing so we wouldn't miss it! Loved the karoake in the bar!
    Hsiao-Mei
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    16 April 2018

    Best dinners and hot spring pool on this trip

    Lack of information about bus schedule and how to get to the hotel.
    We were interested in Takayama Festival and this place is too far away. However, once we were there, we thoroughly enjoyed the hot spring pools and the excellent foods. The nearby Ropeway provided a great view of Hida Mountain range.
Loading reviews